Published 05 January 2023

West Dunbartonshire residents are being encouraged to highlight Council employees who have gone above and beyond in their duties.

Residents can nominate employees who have gone the extra mile to help them or the local community for an Employee Recognition Award.

The annual event, now in its 9th year, recognises the hard work and dedication of employees who deliver excellent services.

This year, the awards will take place in March 2023, with those shortlisted invited to attend an awards presentation, hosted by Council Chief Executive Peter Hessett

Categories to nominate in include Team of the Year, Team Leader of the Year, Employee of the Year, Young Ambassador of the Year and the Communities Award.

Councillor Martin Rooney, Leader of the Council said: “Our employees play a critical role in the success of West Dunbartonshire Council, every day, and employees from all areas of the council do fantastic work and show the commitment, enthusiasm and care. Employees go above and beyond to continue to provide vital services and we want you to shout about those who deserve recognition more than ever.

“Recognising the efforts and expressing our appreciation to our employees are the goals of the Employee Recognition Awards. It is crucial that we express our gratitude to those unsung heroes who go the extra mile to better the lives of local people.”

Councillor Michelle McGinty, Deputy Leader of the Council said: “I am sure we have all been touched in some way by the work of committed staff members who are a credit to the Council and have went above and beyond what is expected of them.  Whether its staff from home care looking after our vulnerable loved ones to street cleaners helping keep our community tidy the employee recognition awards allow us to take a minute to say thank you. I would ask anyone who has been touched by an employee's hard work to kindly think about nominating that person so they receive the recognition they deserve."

To make a nomination, please visit and fill in the online form.

The deadline for nominations is Friday 10 February.