Published 23 April 2024

Scottish Parliamentary constituencies in West Dunbartonshire will remain largely unchanged following a review by Boundaries Scotland.

Proposals being considered would have seen the current Dumbarton constituency extended further into Clydebank with Helensburgh moved into an Argyll and Bute constituency.

However the results of the local inquiry last year have now been released, with current constituencies in West Dunbartonshire being retained.

It means Clydebank and Old Kilpatrick will remain within the Clydebank and Milngavie constituency.

West Dunbartonshire Council Leader, Councillor Martin Rooney said: “I am pleased that the right decision has been taken in retaining the current constituencies within West Dunbartonshire.

“While populations change and voting numbers can fluctuate as a result, it is important that historical, transport and cultural links are maintained and I am delighted that this has been taken into account in this instance.”

Further details can be found at