The Scottish Youth Parliament is the democratically elected voice of Scotland's young people. 

  • Elections are held every two years, in which young people from all across Scotland stand as candidates to become Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs).
  • MSYPs range in age from 14 to 25 and represent constituencies in all 32 local authorities throughout the country, and several national voluntary organisations.
  • SYP was established on 30 June 1999, making us one day older than the Scottish Parliament.
  • In West Dunbartonshire, you have two MSYPs: one for the Dumbarton constituency and one for the Clydebank & Milngavie constituency.

For the period 2019 – 2022, the Dumbarton MSYP is Dylan Murdoch and the Clydebank and Milngavie MSYP is Hayley Paku. 

The SYP elections for the term 2022 – 2024 took place in November 2021 and saw Tian Qi Yu elected as the MSYP for Dumbarton and Jessica Boyle elected as the MSYP for Clydebank and Milngavie.